Peanut Butter Pancakes

Seems like Izzy was feeling a bit of the hump day blues yesterday.  Though it always brightens my day when she stretches out and tries to relax in different positions.  As long as she stays that way long enough for me to run and get my camera.

Apparently this week is National Pancake Week.  During Fat Tuesday, you’re supposed to eat pancakes as a fulfilling meal before the season of Lent starts.  I’m not Catholic, so I don’t change my diet or habits from now until Easter, but any suggestion of eating pancakes makes me happy.

Earlier this week, I added a recipe index to Bashful Bao as a way for readers to look through all the recipes I’ve posted.  As it turns out, this marks the eighth pancake recipe I’ve put up…awesome.

And I have no intention of slowing down, especially since I recently purchased a cast iron duel griddle and grill pan.  Now I can make six pancakes at a time instead of two!  I am loving that thing.

This is the best peanut butter I have ever tasted.  Period.

Peanut Butter Pancakes

Adapted from Crepes of Wrath

Makes 10-12 pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 egg
1 cup plus 3 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In another bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, peanut butter, and vegetable oil. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.

Heat your griddle over medium-low heat and grease with cooking spray, oil or butter.  When the pan is ready, pour about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake. Don’t overcrowd the pancakes because they will spread a bit as they cook. Cook for about 3 or 4 minutes per side, until golden. They won’t bubble like normal pancakes because of the thickness of the peanut butter.  Remove to a separate plate and enjoy with your favorite pancake toppings.

 

Leave a Reply

