Lasagna

Where’s the first place I’m going today?  Oh yeah, CVS, my post-holiday candy Nirvana.  Maybe if I’m lucky I’ll score a Russell Stover box as big as my head.

Last night, Luke and I went out to a Mediterranean restaurant in the heart of town.  The food was really good, good enough for me to break my “no eating baby animals rule.” Yes, I had lamb.  It’s Mediterranean food…how was I not going to eat lamb?

But now the holiday is over and I am thrilled to stop seeing cutesy decorations on every blog I visit.  I am not, I repeat, not a girly girl, nor have I ever been one, nor will I ever be one, so when the onslaught of red and pink hearts and kisses is put away for another year, I rejoice.  And make layered pasta covered in meat sauce and cheese.

Lasagna seems like a ubiquitous food, everybody has their own recipe, and can dress up the dish with their personal touches.  There’s spinach lasagna, mushroom lasagna, white lasagna, veggie lasagna, quadruple meat lasagna…oh boy that last one sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen.

But mine, is just lasagna.   Noodles, meat sauce, ricotta, mozzarella and parmesan; there you go.  Easy, scrumptious, and makes enough to feed two people for an alarming number of days.

Lasagna

Adapted from A Foodie Affair

Makes about 8 servings

1 box lasagna noodles
1 lb ground beef (I used ground turkey)
1 onion, chopped
2 – 28 oz. cans crushed tomatoes
1 garlic clove, minced
oregano, basil, parsley, touch of sugar, salt & pepper
1 – 2 lb. container of ricotta
2 eggs
1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
3 Tbsp dried parsley
8 oz shredded 6 cheese Italian cheese blend (or more mozzarella)
8 oz shredded Mozzarella cheese

Boil lasagna noodles according to package directions, drain and set aside.

In a large skillet, brown onion in a little oil until slightly tender and add ground beef. Continue cooking ground beef until slightly browned. Add crushed tomatoes, garlic, spices, and a touch of sugar. Cook approx. 15-20 minutes, or until sauce is slightly thickened. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine ricotta cheese, parsley, parmesan cheese, and eggs. Mix until combined.

Preheat oven to 350° F.

In a 13″ X 9″ baking dish, put a little meat sauce in the bottom (just to make sure the noodles don’t stick). Layer one layer of cooked noodles. Put a generous layer of ricotta cheese mixture and sprinkle a little of the Italian shredded cheese mixture on top of the ricotta. Top with a little of the meat sauce.

Continue to repeat the above steps ending with noodles. Top the noodles with meat sauce and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese.

Top the casserole with aluminum foil and cook in the oven for approximately 35-45 minutes.

Remove the foil from the top and top entire casserole with 8 oz. package of grated mozzarella cheese. Put back in to the oven for 10-15 minutes, or until the cheese is just melted.  Make sure you don’t leave it in too long, you don’t want the cheese to brown.

3 Comments on “Lasagna”

  1. Thanks for the mention. Hope you liked it. After reading your post, I chuckled…I have the same “no eat baby animals” rule! Too funny…thanks again!

    • bashfulbao says:

      No problem! Lasagna recipes can be so complicated, and I was soo happy to find yours because it was simple and delicious. Haha, I guess my problem is more with veal and how calves are sometimes caged from birth until slaughter. I don’t think it’s generally done to lambs though, so I felt a little less guilty.

  2. […] that lasagna I made?  Well, I’m going to have to work on my lasagna layering skills, because even though it […]


Leave a Reply

