Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Bread

First off, a wonderful Valentine’s Day to you all.  Have a look at this adorable bunny eating while sitting in her pet bed.

I hope you are sharing it with someone special, or all the special people in your life.  Why should only one person be the beneficiary of your love?  Spread it around, I say.  My dad sends me a Valentine e-card every year.  This year’s featured hamsters “playing” (more like gnawing on) tiny instruments while a love song plays in the background.  Guess that’s as close to rabbits as he could find.  As always, thanks Dad.

I remember Valentine’s Day in elementary school, when you got those little cheesy cards with candy taped to the back and passed them out to all your classmates.  Apparently nowadays some schools don’t allow candy to be given out…because of allergy concerns?  I’m all for safety at school, but I’m glad I was young before things like that became policies.

Probably because I hoard holiday candy like nobody’s business.  I’m all about post-holiday candy sales.  It’s probably my favorite part of Halloween, Easter and Valentine’s Day.  Yeah, ok, so I’m weird.

Is eating cookies for breakfast weird?  Cookie Crisp cereal anyone?  Well I’ve got something better.  It’s a quick bread that tastes like a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie!  I love the chewiness of oatmeal cookies, and don’t like the texture of oatmeal itself, so this was perfect for me.  I hope you’ll enjoy it too.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie Bread

Adapted from How Sweet Eats

Makes 1 9×5″ loaf

1/4 cup of butter (half a stick), softened

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

3/4 cup chocolate chunks

coarse sugar for topping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×5” loaf pan.  In a medium bowl, add flour, oats, cinnamon, salt and baking soda together and mix. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat butter until creamy then add sugar. Beat until fluffy, about 3-4 minutes.  Add in egg and mix until fully combined, then add in vanilla and do the same.  Add half of the dry ingredients. Once combined, add the buttermilk, then the rest of the dry ingredients.  Mix until completely incorporated.

Fold in chocolate chunks. Pour batter into the greased pan and sprinkle with coarse sugar if desired. Set on top of a baking sheet and put in the oven. Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for 30 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

