Matcha Pancakes

So how does someone get tricked into going on a date?  It’s simple really.  I had auditioned for the Chinese Music Ensemble in college, and happily, had made it in.  I had met Luke a few weeks before, and when I told him the good news, he suggested we go out and celebrate.

That sounded great to me, I thought Luke’s roommate would be coming too, as I met Luke through him.  At the last minute, however, he said he couldn’t make it.  That had been their plan all along.

Of course I wasn’t going to back out, and to this day Luke keeps saying that if I didn’t think it was a date, why did I dress so nicely?  I always dress nicely when I go out to eat, sheeeesh.

So that’s our first date story.  My first time making matcha pancakes story is not as lovely.  The first time I made matcha pancakes, there were thin, dry little disks of sadness.  I thought to myself, well maybe you can’t put matcha in everything…

But I was wrong!  And I’m so happy about it!  I came across another recipe that uses sour cream to give the batter more body, and desperately wanting my pancakes to be matcha flavored, I had to try it.

Happiness is a warm, fluffy, green tinted pancake.

Matcha Pancakes

Adapted from Kirbie’s Cravings

Makes about 12-14 pancakes

1 1/2 cups flour
3 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sour cream
3/4 cup + 1 tbsp milk
2 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons matcha (green tea powder)

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, matcha powder and salt in a bowl.   In another bowl combine sour cream, milk, eggs, vanilla extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones and mix only until combined.
Don’t overmix the batter, or your pancakes will be chewy, dense and tough!

Grease pan/skillet.  Using a ladle or large spoon, pour the pancake batter into the skillet and cook until bubbles appear on top and the bottom turns a light brown color.   Flip the pancakes over and cook for another minute or so.  Serve warm with your choice of toppings/sauces.  Trader Joe’s creamed honey was my favorite spread for these pancakes.

Leave a Reply

