Green Tea Financiers

I have something to confess.  I have a green tea powder (matcha) addiction.  I love the silky stuff and its earthy scent.  I love it in a teacup by itself, or in a plastic mug accompanied by tapioca pearls.  I love it in puddings, cakes, cookies; you name it, I’ve probably had it or would be very willing to try.

While I was in Japan, I had the pleasure of eating a green tea white chocolate bagel.  Note to self: figure out how to replicate it.  Unlike some sweets I burned myself out on while in Asia, like red bean paste or mochi, my love for green tea flavored baked goods has never wavered.

Maybe it’s because I invested in a one-pound bag of the powdery stuff, or maybe it’s because it is a timeless flavor that transcends cultural divides and is making its way into mainstream American baking culture.  At least, I think it is.

When I saw this recipe in Ready for Dessert, I was elated.  I am always hunting for more green tea recipes, more ways to incorporate that magic powder into my life and stomach.  Sadly, Luke is not really a green tea fan, so I have to limit myself.

These little cakes are perfect with tea, or as an afternoon snack or light dessert.  Or breakfast.  Or anytime really.

Green Tea Financiers

Adapted from Ready for Dessert

Makes 24 mini muffin sized cakes

2 teaspoons sesame seeds (white, or a mix of black and white)

1/8 teaspoon flaky sea salt

2/3 cup sliced almonds

½ cup sugar

1 tablespoon white sesame seeds

5 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 ½ teaspoons green tea powder (matcha)

¼ teaspoon baking powder

big pinch of salt

grated zest of ½ lemon

4 large egg whites

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Grease a 24-cup mini muffin tin.

In a small bowl, mix together the first two ingredients and sprinkle the muffin cups with two-thirds of the mixture.  Set the rest aside.

Pulverize the almonds, sugar, 1 tablespoon white sesame seeds, the flour, green tea, baking powder, salt and lemon zest in a food processor until the nuts are finely ground.  Add the egg whites and butter and pulse until the mixture is smooth, stopping to scrape down the bowl as needed to ensure that the ingredients are thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the prepared mini muffin tin, then sprinkle the tops with the remaining sesame salt mixture.  Rap the muffin tin on the counter once or twice to release any air pockets and level the batter.  Bake just until the financiers feel firm when gently pressed with a finger, about 12 minutes.

Let cool completely, then remove the financiers from the tin and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

