Keema Chicken Curry

I cannot apologize enough for the poor quality of the photos in this post.  It was a tasty dish, really, even if the photos don’t convey that very well.  I am working really hard to make sure that I shoot in natural light, because my apartment’s lighting is horrible for taking photos.  Especially at night.

But that’s when you eat dinner, so I’ve had to make do.  I’m starting to make dinner while it’s still light out, shoot it, then reheat it when I’m actually hungry/Luke gets home.  This may work out well, since I don’t cook (or do anything) really well when I’m hungry.  Luke calls me “Hanna,” which stands for hungry Anna because my personality changes so much under the influence of hunger.

I hope you never meet Hanna.  Apparently she is not a very nice person.  Anyway, another new initiative I’ve started is keeping a spreadsheet of recipes I want to make from the various food magazines I get.  This way, I don’t dog-ear something and then completely forget about it.  Plus, I can make notes on the spreadsheet to remind myself of spicing changes, or just the overall outcome.

I’ve also done it for my cookbooks, and it’s been working well, since it’s much easier to search an electronic document for an ingredient than an index, especially when some of the recipes the index takes me to might contain other things I don’t like.  Plus I’m on my computer all the time anyway…so it works out.

Keema Chicken Curry

Adapted from Food & Wine January 2012 Issue

Makes 4-6 servings

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 pound ground chicken meat

1 large onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger

2 large garlic cloves, minced

1 ½ tablespoons curry powder

salt and freshly ground pepper

1 large Yukon gold potato, peeled and cut into ½ inch dice

1 ½ cups low-sodium chicken broth

One 14oz can unsweetened coconut milk

One 14oz can diced tomatoes, with their juices

In a large deep skillet, heat the oil.  Add the ground meat and cook over high heat, stirring to break up the lumps (my grandma recommended using a potato masher, which works well to get the big chunks apart, sadly I didn’t have this knowledge yet when I made this dish), until no longer pink, about 5 minutes.  Add the onion, ginger, garlic and curry powder and season with salt and pepper.

Cook over high heat, stirring frequently, until the onion is softened, about 3 minutes.

Add the potato, broth, coconut milk, and the tomatoes and their juices and bring to a boil.  Cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until potato is tender, about 15 minutes.  Serve over rice, with or without naan.

Leave a Reply

