Banana Pancakes

Yesterday was a pancake day.  Some people refer to days like these as bread, or soup days, and sometimes I do too.  But yesterday was most certainly a pancake day.  What made it a pancake day, you say?  This weather, plus two very ripe bananas eyeballing me from the fruit bowl.

It might have been a soup day if I didn’t have a mountain of leftovers from having Luke’s boss over for dinner the night before.  It might have been a bread day if I didn’t have three half loaves of three different kinds of bread in my freezer.  So it was a pancake day.

I wish every day were a pancake day.  I love how versatile pancakes are…the different flavors that can be contained in such a delectable little disk are so varied and delicious.  You all know I eat pancakes like potato chips, so having extra on hand is never a problem.

I routinely have multiple kinds of pancakes in the freezer, waiting the be unleashed as my ultimate snack food.  But you can eat them for breakfast like normal folks I suppose.

These guys are everything banana pancakes should be, firm but soft, tender, and bursting with banana flavor.  Add some chocolate chips too.  They’ll be just like the ones my dad used to make for me when I was in college.  I mean, when I was little…

Banana Pancakes

Adapted from The Crumb Blog

1 1/2 cups flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
2 medium ripe bananas, mashed
1 1/4 cup milk
2 large eggs
3 tbsp honey (or sugar)
3 tbsp butter, melted
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
In a second mixing bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients until combined. Pour into the bowl of dry ingredients, and stir until relatively lump-free.
Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium heat. Grease lightly with butter or vegetable oil. When the butter/oil starts to sizzle, drop in 1/3 cup portions of batter.

Cook for about 2 minutes, or until a few bubbles start to form on the surface, then gently flip over and continue cooking until golden brown, about 1-2 minutes longer. Transfer the finished pancakes to a baking tray or large plate. Repeat this process until the batter is finished, re-greasing the pan as needed.
Serve with your favorite toppings.

 

Leave a Reply

