Gingerbread Pancakes

More milk?  Check.  Pancake time.

 I’ve made many different kinds of pancakes in my day, and the list keeps growing.  Some of the pancakes I’ve made have been awesome.  So I share them with you.  Some of them are very much less than awesome, and will not be displayed here.  Sometimes when you make non-traditional pancakes, you end up with a runny batter that produces thin, flat, dry pancakes with pockets of intact flour.  Extreme sad face.

For me, a good pancake is fluffy, soft and flavorful.  And these pancakes are soooo that.  I’d made gingerbread pancakes before that didn’t turn out so well, but when I saw that this recipe required the eggs to be separated, with the whites beaten alone and added at the end, I knew the resulting pancakes would be far from my first disappointment.

Even though the holiday season is over, that doesn’t mean we can’t reprise gingerbread.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s timeless.

As a quick note, Izzy is being spayed today!  She’ll be at the vet until tomorrow afternoon.  I miss her already!

Gingerbread Pancakes

Adapted From Cake Student

2 tsp fresh ginger minced (I used ground since fresh ginger is a little strong for me)

1 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 pinch ground cloves

dash of salt

1 cup milk

4 eggs, separated

1/2 cup molasses

Heat up your pancake griddle or frying pan to medium low.

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour, spices, salt) and the ginger.

Separate the eggs, place egg whites in your electric mixer bowl or just a separate bowl if using a hand mixer, the yolks in a small bowl. Beat the egg whites until foamy and fairly stiff.

In the egg yolk bowl, stir in the milk and molasses.

Add the yolk mixture to the dry mixture. Finally fold in the egg whites.

Add some oil to the griddle, drop on spoonfuls of the batter. It’s ready to flip when you see bubbles in the middle of the pancake and its golden on the bottom, about 3-5 minutes on each side.

Leave a Reply

