Chocolate Pumpkin Pie

Today, I had a good plan.  I knew my milk was closing in on its expiration date, so I decided to make pancakes.  Lots of pancakes.  Because that’s what I do with extra milk.  I don’t drink it…I make pancakes.  Except that today I didn’t make pancakes, because my milk had already gone bad.

After taking a whiff, I contemplated whether I could still cook with it.  Is that a bad thing?  That I stood in front of my sink debating how smelly is too smelly when it comes to milk?  Thankfully, my rational side won out, and I poured it down the drain.  I should not be that desperate for pancakes.

Instead of pancakes, I’ll eat pie.  That’s a rational decision, no?  Preferably, chocolate pumpkin pie.  I wanted to make this recipe for Thanksgiving soooo bad, but Luke told me to keep it traditional.  Boooooring.  But I still made a great “normal” pumpkin pie.  And totally forgot to take pictures of it.  Sorry about that.

Chocolate and pumpkin may not seem like an intuitively awesome combo, but trust me when I tell you, it’s amazing.  It actually blew me away a little by being so amazing.  I mean, I was expecting a certain level of amazingness, but this pie was definitely 4 levels above my expectations.

Hopefully this pie will open other doors to new pumpkin pie combos.  And if not, at least I have a great complement to that “traditional” version.

Chocolate Pumpkin Pie

Adapted from Pink Parsley

For the Crust:

2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs

3 oz (6 Tbs) unsalted butter, melted

1 Tbs granulated sugar

2 Tbs packed light-brown sugar

1/2 tsp coarse salt

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

3 oz bittersweet chocolate (preferably 61 percent cacao), finely chopped

 

For the Pie:

6 oz semisweet chocolate (preferably 55 percent cacao), chopped

2 oz (4 Tbs) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1 can (15 oz)  pumpkin puree

1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk

3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 Tbs cornstarch

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

3/4 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

pinch of ground cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine graham cracker crumbs, butter, sugars, salt, and cinnamon in bowl. Firmly press mixture into bottom and up sides of a 9 inch pie plate. Bake until firm, 8 to 10 minutes.

Remove from oven, and sprinkle bittersweet chocolate over bottom of crust. Return to oven to melt chocolate, about 1 minute. Spread chocolate in a thin layer on bottom and up sides. Let cool on a wire rack. Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees.

To make the filling, melt the butter and semisweet chocolate together in a large bowl (either using a double boiler, or in the microwave, cooking at 30 second intervals and stirring well after each).

In a medium bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, milk, brown sugar, eggs, cornstarch, vanilla, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and a pinch of cloves. Whisk about 1/3 pumpkin mixture into chocolate mixture. Whisk in remaining pumpkin mixture until completely incorporated.

Transfer pie dish to a rimmed baking sheet, and pour pumpkin mixture into the crust. Bake until the center is set but still just a bit wobbly, 55 to 60 minutes. Let cool in pie dish on a wire rack. Refrigerate until well chilled, at least 8 hours, but preferably overnight.

Note: I ended up with extra filling.  I baked some in ramekins, and some in tartlet pans with extra pie crust I had leftover from other recipes.  These little guys baked for about 15-20 mins.

Leave a Reply

