Eggnog Crumb Coffee Cake

I am happy to report that Izzy’s trip to the vet was a success, and her spay has been scheduled for next week.  I wish I had brought my camera with me though, as there were two amazing Kodak moments.  First, they weighed her using a scale smaller than the one I use in the kitchen, and they put her in a little bowl to do it.

Second, after she had been poked and prodded, the vet somehow got her snug in the crook of his arm on her back, her little paws sitting on her belly.  The vet tech and I couldn’t stop squealing.  I wonder if she held that position because she was so afraid of the high pitched noises we were making.

After the vet put her down, she hopped over to me and jumped into my arms.  Not the open pet carrier.  My arms.  Score one for me.

Score one for you = making this coffee cake.  I know, I know, you’re rolling your eyes at yet another eggnog recipe.  This is the last one, for this season, I promise.  There’s a reason I saved this one for last though.

I don’t make coffee cake too often, which is odd because it’s quite delicious.  I think this is only the second coffee cake I’ve made in my life (the first being my mom’s blueberry coffee cake, which I will assuredly share with you someday soon) and so far I’d say I’m two for two.

This coffee cake is moist and tender, composed of three different layers, all combining together into a fabulously tasty breakfast.  Or dessert.  Or lunch.  Ok, maybe I didn’t eat it for lunch….all the time.

Eggnog Crumble Coffee Cake

Adapted from How Sweet Eats

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (I used all all-purpose)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon + an extra 1/4 teaspoon

1/2 cup loosely packed brown sugar + and extra 1/3 cup

1/3 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup eggnog

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray. In a small bowl, combine 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. In another small bowl, combine flours, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon, then whisk to combine.

In a large bowl, add butter and sugars and whisk until smooth. Whisk in eggs one a time, mixing until completely combined, then stir in vanilla extract. Stir in dry ingredients, mixing until a batter forms, then whisk in eggnog until smooth. Pour half of the batter in the baking dish, then sprinkle the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture over top. Cover with remaining batter, gently using a spatula to spread over sugar if needed. Don’t worry if some of the sugar peeks through. Top with the crumble below.

Crumble Topping

1/3 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until crumbly. Sprinkle evenly over cake, then bake for 30-35 minutes, or until cake is set in the middle. While cake is baking, make glaze below. After removing cake from oven, immediately poke holes all throughout the cake with a toothpick, then drizzle glaze over top.

Eggnog glaze

1/3 cup eggnog

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

pinch of nutmeg

Whisk all ingredients together in a small saucepan over medium heat, and allow to come to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 1-2 minutes, then remove from heat and let sit until cake is finished.

Leave a Reply

