Eggnog Quick Bread

2011 has been quite a year for me.  I graduated from college, moved into an apartment with my boyfriend, got engaged, got my first pet as an “adult.”  I think this calls for a photo montage.

Me and my BFF Diego at my graduation.

 ❤

 Anyway, I think 2012 is going to be even better.  It’ll be the year I get married and hopefully land the job of my dreams.  But I’m getting ahead of myself, there’s still today to enjoy!

And you thought I was done with eggnog.  Guess, what?  It never stops…ever.  The last time we came down to Connecticut just after Thanksgiving, I brought half a loaf of this bread to my Dad, and he loved it.

Before leaving this time around, he asked if I’d be bringing it again.  I say no, I had other treats up my sleeve for this trip. And I was out of eggnog.  At first he insisted that I go out and get some in order to make this bread again.  After convincing him that what I was bringing this time was wayyy better, he finally dropped it.  I guess that means it was a good recipe, right?

So if you’ve got some nog leftover from Christmas, here’s another idea for you.  May your 2012 be full of delicious treats, joy, and fulfilled resolutions.  Happy New Year!

Eggnog Quick Bread

Adapted from Recipe Girl

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (or ground)
2 large eggs
1 cup granulated white sugar
1 cup eggnog (low fat is fine)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon rum extract, optional

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease the bottom and 1/2 inch up the sides of a 9-by-5-by-3-inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, eggnog, melted butter, vanilla, and rum extract (if using). Add egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until moistened (batter will be lumpy).

Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake for about 45 to 50 minutes. Check for done-ness by inserting a toothpick into the center of the loaf — it should come out clean. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely on a rack.

Leave a Reply

