Soy Honey Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Yesterday afternoon we returned home from our ski trip.  I like to think Izzy was extremely happy to see us, but who knows.  Her behavior can be a little tricky to decipher.  The automatic feeder we bought for her worked perfectly.  That gizmo really saved us from dumping poor Izzy on an unsuspecting friend or family member.  Not that she’s high maintenance.  Come on…she’s a rabbit.

Our second day of skiing was just as lovely as the first.  We got up to one of the tallest peaks at Sunday River, and the views were spectacular.  In the end. Luke only fell once!!  And he was quite a trooper to keep going even though he was sore.

These are the items we picked up at the little pottery shop.  Cute, right?

Sometimes I have this tiny problem where I buy things on sale at the supermarket, even if I don’t really need it.  Whenever sweet potatoes go on sale, I always buy a few, even though I have no plans to bake with them.  Obviously, I’ve already made a lot of sweet potato baked goods.

So I’ve been trying to find other ways to dress up the spuds.  When I came across this recipe in Tastespotting, (because I check it everyday…..healthy obsession, of course) I knew I had to make it someday.  Soy sauce, honey, sweet potatoes…mmmmm..three flavors I absolutely adore.  And, unsurprisingly, when combined together, they taste even better!  I made these, ate half, then added the rest to a batch of chili I had made.  It would definitely make a great side dish too.

Soy Honey Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Adapted from Week of Menus

1 lb sweet potatoes, peeled
3 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
pinch of salt

2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 350. Cut sweet potatoes into ice cube sized pieces. Toss potatoes with vegetable and sesame oil and a pinch of salt.  Place on a cookie sheet in a single layer and roast for 30 to 40 minutes or until edges are crisp.

While potatoes are baking, mix honey, soy sauce and grated ginger for the glaze. Drizzle over the potatoes and place 4 to 6 inches from broiler. Broil 5-7 minutes shaking baking sheet occasionally until nicely browned on the outside. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve.

Leave a Reply

