Sweet Potato Pancakes

When Christmas time rolls around, it always makes me wish I was a little girl again.  I had “pony” on my wish list every single year.  Gotta have aspirations right?  I never did get that pony, but that’s ok.  Now I’m old enough to buy my own pet, and appreciate the economic merits of said pet when compared to a pony.

Even though December is chugging on by, the only snow we’ve had here in Northern Massachusetts was the storm on Halloween.  Yep, no snow since then.  Boo.  Growing up, my family used to spend some Christmases in Michigan with my maternal grandparents.  We would drive the whoooooole way (16 hours from central Connecticut), but it was worth it.  The snow banks were sooo high to my young eyes.  My brother and I would play every kind of game involving snow imaginable.  When my grandpa went out to snow blow the driveway, he would always aim the spout where the displaced snow at my brother and me, who were sitting in the snow banks watching him.  Those were great times.

Sorry about the pictures, these are from my earlier days.

Sadly, I don’t have many memories of Christmas time food.  There are a few of course, my grandma’s chocolate peanut clusters and her egg and potato egg bakes.  I also remember enjoying sweet potato casserole for the first time, although I think I liked it for the marshmallows.  I must admit my palate hasn’t always been as refined as it is now.  So I’m going to try and start making some Christmas food traditions of my own, now that I can.  We’ll see how it goes.

The top one is smothered in Apple Cider Jelly….mmmm

I made these pancakes after realizing the sweet potatoes I thought were purple on the inside (remember this?) where in fact yellowish orange.  Oops.  What to do with all that roasted sweet potato?  Answer: pancakes.  The answer is always pancakes. Sometimes I make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with them.  Pancakes are so the new bread.  These pancakes pack a flavorful punch of cinnamon and sweet potato.  Get some sweet potato and make ‘em.  They’re winners every time.

 

Sweet Potato Pancakes

Adapted from La Fuji Mama

Makes about 2 dozens pancakes

16 ounces orange-flesh sweet potato (about 2 medium sweet potatoes)
3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
3/4 cup all-purpose flour ( I use all-purpose for both)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 large eggs, beaten
1 1/2 tablespoons unsulphured molasses
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups milk

Cook the sweet potatoes: Scrub the sweet potatoes and place them in a medium saucepan of boiling water. Cook them until they are tender, about 15 minutes. Drain the water and immediately immerse the sweet potatoes in cold water to loosen their skins. Drain the water again, remove the skins, then chop and mash the flesh.

While the sweet potatoes are cooking, sift together in a large mixing bowl the whole wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. Set aside.

When the potatoes have cooled slightly, add the butter, and mash until relatively smooth. Add the eggs, molasses, and vanilla extract and blend. Finally, mix in the milk.

Add the sweet potato mixture to the dry ingredients and mix with a spoon until just moistened (the batter will be lumpy), about 50 strokes. Set aside to rest.

Preheat a lightly greased skillet or griddle over medium heat. Using a 1/4 cup measure or ladle, pour the batter onto the preheated skillet or griddle. Turn the pancakes once with a spatula when the surface begins to bubble. Cook until golden brown.  Serve hot with your favorite pancake toppings.

 

 

Leave a Reply

