Pulled Pork

Before I begin gushing over how much I love pulled pork, I’d like to share a tidbit of positivity I received earlier this week regarding my future prospects.  The school I’ve been in communication with has informed me that Chinese implementation in grades 7 and 9 has been approved by the Education Committee made of faculty/administrators, and now only needs Board approval.  You can bet all my fingers and toes are crossed.

Making pulled pork makes me sing.  No joke.  While I’m seasoning up that pork butt, you can bet I’m humming a little tune to myself, and that tune is most likely not an actual song, but rather the actions I’m performing at that very moment.  Like Marshall from HIMYM.  Sing-narration, it’s a thing.  Yes, pulled pork brings out something special in me, it’s just so darn tasty!

Plus scallions, of course.

I somehow inherited a slow cooker from my mom, and though it’s not the shiniest model on the shelf, it gets the job done.  I knew I was going to want to eat this pork ASAP once it was done, so I cooked it overnight!  Wake up in the morning, and there’s a nice big crock pot full of amazing pork waiting for ya.  It’s like Christmas, because once it’s done, you get to tear it to shreds, like wrapping paper.  Except then you get to eat it.  Bonus.

I like to eat my pulled pork on a roll or in a bowl, in a quesadilla or what rhymes with quesadilla?  Anyway, another thing I love about pulled pork is how versatile it is.  Just slather on some of your favorite barbecue sauce, and it’s good to go.

 

Pulled Pork

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

Makes 6-8 servings

1 large Vidalia onion, sliced thin
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 (4-6 lb) boneless pork butt or shoulder
¾ cup cider vinegar
4 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1 ½ teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1 ½ teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoons dry mustard
½ teaspoon garlic salt
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

Rinse pork roast under cold water and pat dry with paper towels.

Place onions in crock-pot. In a small bowl, combine brown sugar, paprika, kosher salt and pepper; mix thoroughly. Rub mixture all over roast and place the roast on top of the onions.

In a medium bowl, combine vinegar, Worcestershire, red pepper flakes, sugar, mustard, garlic salt and cayenne pepper; whisk to combine. Drizzle about 1/3 of vinegar mixture over roast. Cover and refrigerate remaining vinegar mixture.

Cover crockpot; cook on low for 10-12 hours. Drizzle about 1/3 of reserved vinegar mixture over roast during last ½ hour of cooking.

Remove meat and onions; drain. Chop or shred meat and onions with forks. Serve with remaining vinegar mixture or your favorite barbeque sauce.

 

2 Comments on “Pulled Pork”

  1. […] of meat.  It’s slow cooked to tender perfection and makes everything taste better.  I’ve made pulled pork.  So here’s its counterpart.  Stay tuned for an awesome idea as to what to do with leftover […]

  2. […] of meat.  It’s slow cooked to tender perfection and makes everything taste better.  I’ve made pulled pork.  So here’s its counterpart.  Stay tuned for an awesome idea as to what to do with leftover […]


Leave a Reply

