Scallion Pancakes

I just vested and juiced 13 limes.  Check it.

 I am a zealous zester.

Once these freeze, transfer to a Ziploc bag so you don’t have to thaw them all out at once.

 Why does this lime look like a strange sea critter?

Another green item I would buy from the Asian market in bulk are scallions.  As it is, I can get a bunch of them for $.50.  So that works.  What would I do with that many scallions anyway?  I really should not be asking myself that question…who knows what I might come up with.

When I was in Taiwan, one of my favorite snacks were these spiral buns flecked with scallions.  They were puffy and soft, with, like eating a scallion-laden cloud.  While I have attempted to recreate them in America (I have bought frozen buns of a similar variety, but they just didn’t have the same flavor), I did make something like their second cousin.

Little scallion snail!

Scallion pancakes are common in many types of Asian cuisine, probably because they’re so delicious.  People know when they’ve got a good thing going.  The dough comes together in a snap, requires minimal resting time (no yeast necessary) and is fun to work with…unlike some incredibly sticky and difficult yeast dough I’ve faced.

Then you pan-fry them, and they are good to go!  The outer layers are crispy, but the inner layers are soft, all the while, there are scallions everywhere.  You can eat them on their own, or with curry, soup, or Beijing (Peking) duck!  I am so glad I made these, and will definitely continue to make them…even if I find a way to make the scallion buns from Taiwan.  There absolutely is room in my heart for more than one scallion goodie.

Scallion Pancakes

Adapted from Crepes of Wrath (love this blog!)

Makes 6-7 pancakes

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling out
1 cup hot water
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for frying
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon sesame oil
6 scallions, sliced thinly

In the bowl of your food processor or blender, add your flour then gradually add in the hot water, pulsing as you go, until the dough comes together – you may not need all of the water.

Lightly flour your work surface, then turn the dough out onto it. Knead the dough by slightly stretching it and folding it back into itself a few times, until it becomes smooth enough to form into a ball. Lightly oil a medium sized bowl and place the dough in it. Cover the bowl with a damp towel or cloth and allow to rest for 20 minutes.

Divide the dough into 6 equal sized pieces, then roll each piece into a ball. Roll out each ball into a 5-inch in diameter circle. Combine the olive oil and sesame oil, then brush it onto the pancake, followed by a sprinkling of salt and a generous sprinkling of sliced scallions. Roll the pancake up, then curl it into itself, like a snail (see the photo above). Roll the dough out again into a circle. Continue with all of the pancakes.

Heat a large skillet and heat your olive oil in the pan over medium-high heat. Add in your pancakes, 2 or 3 at a time (I could only do one at a time), for 4-5 minutes on each side, until golden. Place the pancakes on a surface lined with paper towels to drain any excess oil from the pancakes.

Leave a Reply

