Eggnog Cookies

Yesterday morning I made a terrifying discovery.  I noticed something odd on the floor of the kitchen that sent chills down my spine.  Or maybe that was the morning chill in the apartment.  Actually, what I saw made me scowl and wish for the ten billionth time that Luke wasn’t allergic to cats.  (Sorry sweetie, you know I love you!)

Mouse turds.  In my apartment.  This means war!  Oh, if only I could turn Izzy into a mouse seeking bunny missile.  Sadly, I’m sure she and the mice would be mutually afraid of each other if they ever met.  So, I have to take matters into my own hands.  Off to the hardware store to buy mousetraps.  I told my mom about my discovery and her recommendation was the old-school style spring traps and peanut butter.  I also duct taped over the spot I believe to be their access point.  We’ll see how this plays out.

In the meantime, I’ll be double washing all my baking equipment, just to be on the safe side.  So far it looks like my pantry is untouched, so I hope to quell the situation before they find it.  I apologize for starting off with such an unsavory topic, but growing up with cats, I never had to deal with mice issues.  Unless the issue was there was a dead mouse on the stoop my cat left as a friendly gesture.

Now on to something sweet: cookies!  Add some holiday cheer, and you get eggnog cookies!  Eggnog is so versatile, right?!?!  Don’t worry, I got plenty more eggnog recipes in the works.  These cookies are light and cakey, which is my second favorite kind of cookie, just behind soft and chewy.  They have that great eggnog flavor, without the semi-nauseating richness. (I can’t drink more than a shot glass’s worth of straight eggnog at once.)  The recipe includes a glaze as well, but I didn’t have enough eggnog for it, so I had to leave it out.

Eggnog Cookies

Adapted from Babble

Makes about 2 ½ dozen cookies (I halved the recipe)

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg, room temperature (yep, I put in half an egg…cooked the other half and ate it)

1 cup eggnog

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt

3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Icing:

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

5 Tablespoons eggnog

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and beat well. Then add the eggnog and mix again.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and nutmeg in a medium bowl. Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients until everything is just combined. Cover the dough and chill it for at least two hours.

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Drop dough by the round teaspoonful onto lined cookie sheets. Bake one sheet at a time for 10 to 12 minutes, or until the tops are lightly golden. Cool cookies on a wire rack.

To make the icing stir together the confectioners’ sugar, eggnog and nutmeg. Icing the cookies when cooled.

 

Leave a Reply

