Purple Sweet Potato Chiffon Cake

The holiday party was quite enjoyable.  I felt very comfortable in my black dress, although by the end of the night, I was reminded of my burning hatred for nylons.  Once, when I was in fourth grade, my mom made me wear an outfit featuring tights for picture day at school.  I got to the end of the driveway before running back into the house to change into jeans and a long sleeve shirt.  My mom was quite surprised to see my school pictures that year, though to be fair, I think I picked out a tasteful shirt.

But bare legs in winter may suck more than tights.  I’m still debating that one.  Ok, you’re probably looking at the picture above and thinking, ‘what is that?’  Luke asked the very same question when I showed it to him, followed by, “Is it rotten?”  No, it’s not rotten.  It’s purple sweet potato!  Or, Okinawan sweet potato.

I’d been dying to try cooking with them for a while, and after buying the wrong kind at an Asian market once, I was determined to finally find them.  And I did!  Sadly, because of their high sugar content, one of them went bad before I could use it 😦   The other I promptly roasted for use in this cake.

It came out kind of blue, but I still think it’s pretty.

A chiffon cake is somewhere between an angelfood cake and regular cake.  It’s airy like angelfood, but a little denser.  It was delicious, though it didn’t really taste like sweet potato.  Maybe that’s because purple sweet potatoes taste different from orange ones.  Since I didn’t use a food processor, there were chunks of sweet potato throughout the cake, which I enjoyed.  This was another instance of created by Anna, for Anna, but Luke didn’t seem to mind.  I think the color made him leery.  I thought it was beautiful!

Finally got a pic of it cooling upside down.  Thanks for the wine bottle D&E, it’s a great cooling stand!

 Purple Sweet Potato Chiffon Cake

Adapted from Evan’s Kitchen Ramblings

130g purple sweet potato

4 tbsps milk

4 egg yolks

25g brown sugar

65ml canola oil

4 tbsps water

110g cake flour, sifted

5 cold egg whites

65g caster sugar

(This recipe requires a kitchen scale or weight to volume conversions)

 Peel and chop purple sweet potatoes, then steam until cooked. (I roasted mine at 400 degrees for about 40 mins). Lightly mash with fork, add milk and puree with hand blender until emulsified.

Preheat oven to 350.  In a medium bowl whisk together egg yolks, brown sugar, oil & water until well blended. Add in sweet potato puree and mix well. Fold in flour until well combined.

In another bowl beat together egg whites and caster sugar until stiff peaks ( I used my hand mixer), then fold the whites into the yolk mixture in 3 additions.

Pour mixture into ungreased chiffon/angel cake tube pan and knock the pan against the counter top to remove some air bubbles.

Bake for 40 mins or until a wooden skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean. Remove tin from oven and immediately invert it until the cake has cooled completely.

One Comment on “Purple Sweet Potato Chiffon Cake”

  1. […] these pancakes after realizing the sweet potatoes I thought were purple on the inside (remember this?) where in fact yellowish orange.  Oops.  What to do with all that roasted sweet potato?  […]


Leave a Reply

