Sweet Potato Chickpea Curry

Today marks another rite of passage for Luke and myself into our lives as adults, right up there with getting out own apartment, paying our own bills, and buying our first pet.  Yep, this is one heck of a milestone, our first company holiday party as a couple!  Wooohoooo!  Free food!  Ok, so I’m still a little ways from reaching full adulthood.

It’s really hard to take a good pic of curry.  Especially at night.  My cat bowl is cute though, right?

When Luke first told me about the party, my first thought was ‘What do I wear?’  Last night when I pondered over it a little more, I spotted the cute, double patterned knee-length dress I got at Kohl’s for $6 that totally makes me look like Zooey Deschanel.  Except for the hair…how I wish I had that girl’s hair.  Anyway, I realized very quickly that the dress would, under no circumstances, be appropriate.  I am going to be the youngest person at this party…do I really need my clothes to emphasize that?  Black dress it is.

Life is full of choices.  Wear the cute little hipstery dress or the long mature black one?  Cook something both Luke and I can enjoy, or be selfish and make something he won’t touch?  Oops, I went with the later on that one.

To be fair, the boy could just suck it up and eat sweet potato and chickpeas.  I mean, they are incredibly delicious after all.  Combine them with Indian spices, and you’ve got recipe gold.  I love curry, but can never order it in restaurants because I can’t take spicy food.  Making it at home though, gives you control over the level of heat, so if you’re a wimp like me, you can dial down the hot curry powder.  This is definitely a great one pot winter meal.  Throw it over some rice, or sop it up with some naan. Either way, it’s delicious!

 

Sweet Potato Chickpea Curry

Adapted from Three Many Cooks

2-3 Tbs. Olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 large carrot, coarsely chopped
1 bell pepper, preferably green, cut into bite-sized pieces
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into bite-size chunks
5-6 garlic cloves, minced
4 tsp. sweet curry powder (I used all regular curry powder)
I Tbs. hot curry powder
I Tbs. ground cumin
1 ½ tsp. garam masala
A few dashes of cinnamon
1-2 cans of chickpeas (drained), or similar amount of cooked dried beans
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
Chicken or vegetable broth
Salt
Black pepper

Set a dutch oven or stock pot over medium-high heat, add the olive oil. Saute onion, carrot and bell pepper until beginning to soften. Add sweet potatoes, garlic, and all the spices and saute until fragrant, 1-2 minutes. Add chickpeas, tomatoes, and enough stock to almost cover the ingredients. Season with salt and pepper, and more spices if you’d like (keeping in mind the flavors will intensify as the liquid reduces). Simmer partially covered for about 30 minutes, remove the lid and continue to simmer until it has the consistency of a thick stew. Taste a chunk of sweet potato to make sure it’s done, and season to taste with more salt and pepper if necessary.

Leave a Reply

