Banana Peanut Butter Truffle Muffins

Yesterday was a success.  I officially have a wedding dress.  Well, not physically, it’s being ordered, but a decision was made and now that worry is off my plate.  The process actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, mostly because of how picky I was.  If I didn’t like it on the hanger, no way it was going on my body.

The first boutique we went to, I passed on the first six dresses I was shown.  But I suppose that’s how you need to be to get what you want.  At both places we went to, the first dress I tried on was the one I ended up liking the most.

Here are a couple shots of me in poofy white dresses that will not be my wedding dress.  Every time I came out of the dressing room, I felt like a sled dog pulling the dress’s train behind me.  The dress I did choose has minimal train.  Also, wedding dresses are a lot heavier than they look.

Smiling on the outside, thinking ‘what is this poofy thing?’ on the inside.

 Behind me is Eileen, my hilarious and quirky bridal consultant.

All in all, I am very pleased with the dress I chose, and am more excited than ever to wear it in August.  And now, what you’ve been waiting for, banana peanut butter truffle muffins.  Quite a name for quite a muffin.

 

A banana muffin with a peanut butter truffle center/bottom.  Peanut butter and banana is a fantastic combination in my opinion, and these muffins were a perfect reaffirmation of that.  This recipe could easily be halved, but I had some weird baking cups to get rid of, so I made a full batch.  Luke loves banana muffins and banana bread, so these were right up his alley too.  Win win!

Banana Peanut Butter Truffle Muffins

Adapted from Picky Palate

Makes 12 (I got 15-16 muffins somehow)

1 1/4 cups creamy peanut butter

1 cup powdered sugar

2 large ripe bananas or 3 small

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup light packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 cup buttermilk

1 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

 Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and line a 12 cup muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Place peanut butter and powdered sugar into a medium bowl, mixing until well combined. With a small cookie scoop, scoop evenly into the bottom of lined cupcake cups.

In a large bowl mash bananas until well mashed. Stir in sugars, egg and buttermilk until well combined. Slowly add flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon until just combined. Evenly scoop batter over peanut butter truffle filled cups, about 3/4 full. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, until cooked through. Let cool completely and serve.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

