Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream

This weekend is going to be a busy one.  Tomorrow especially.  It’s a day I’ve been anticipating and dreading.  Why?  Because I’m taking a first stab at shopping for my wedding dress.

One side got a little too toasty…

Wait a sec.  Dreading?  Oh yes, a part of me is definitely dreading it.  I was quite the tomboy growing up, and never found “girlie” things, such as clothes shopping very interesting.  It took me until my college years to embrace myself as a woman, but that doesn’t mean I suddenly love shopping.  And looking for a wedding dress has to be worst than normal clothes shopping.  A shirt or a pair of jeans I can throw on and take off in no time, but squeezing myself into tight, white dress, one after the other seems brutal.

I’m hoping there will be some fairytale moment where I put on the dress and know my search has ended.  Secretly, I’m hoping that’s the first dress I try on!  My mom and two best female friends will be joining me, so I’m sure they’ll keep my spirits up.

Something else that definitely gets my spirits up is good ice cream.  Yep, even in the winter.  And this ice cream is taaaa-sty.  It tastes exactly like a toasted marshmallow!  Luke thought it was a little too strong, but I eat ice cream in small installments, so it was perfect for me.  The recipe is a little complicated, but if you like the toasted marshmallows, it is definitely worth while.  You could even make an ice cream s’more with it!

 

Toasted Marshmallow Ice Cream

Adapted from Roasting Rambler

10 ounces marshmallows
2 cups skim milk (I think I used 2%)
1 cup heavy cream
5 egg yolks
scant 1/2 cup sugar
1 vanilla bean (split in half and scrapped)
1 tsp vanilla

Move one of the racks in your oven to the highest possible position and preheat the broiler at high for a few minutes. Meanwhile, line a large sheet pan with parchment paper or a silicon mat and spread the marshmallows over the pan in a single layer. Place the pan directly under the broiler and watching closely, let them start to brown. Once they start to toast remove and place in the refrigerator to cool completely. Then flip each marshmallow over (do the best you can) and toast the other side. If the marshmallows start to expand too much make sure to remove them before they hit the heating element.

Transfer the toasted marshmallows to a blender. Put the milk and the vanilla bean and scrapings in a heavy bottomed pan and turn the heat to medium. Stir regularly and bring the milk up to a light simmer (it should be steaming, but not boiling much). While the milk warms up, put the egg yolks, sugar, and salt into a bowl and whisk together vigorously until the mixture is pale yellow.

Once the milk is hot, remove the vanilla bean and add about 1/4 cup of the milk to the egg yolk mixture and stir. Once the milk and eggs are well mixed, add a little more hot milk and mix again. You’re gently warming the eggs so that you don’t end up with creamy scrambled eggs. Then pour the yolk/milk mixture into the milk in the pan and start sitrring gently, but constantly. Allow the mixture to heat back up to steaming, but make sure that the mixture doesn’t boil. The mixture should thicken up to about the consistency of heavy cream. Take it off the heat and stir vigorously for about 3 minutes to cool slightly and then pour into the blender with the marshmallows.

Cover the blender and run it for about a minute to mix well and then allow the mixture to sit for a couple of minutes (this helps the remaining marshmallow chunks to start breaking down). Run the blender again for about a minute and then add the vanilla and the cold cream and run the blender for about 30 seconds more. Pour the mixture into a bowl, cover, and place in the refrigerator. Refrigerate for at least 8 hours. Right before churning in your favorite ice cream maker, whisk the ice cream mixture to thoroughly blend everything together. Churn in your ice cream maker and then transfer to a tupperware and allow the ice cream to ripen (freezer harder) in the freezer for at least two hours.

Leave a Reply

