Eggnog Pancakes

December.  It’s here already, and I can’t believe it.  Part of me is excited for winter.  It happens every year right on the cusp of serious winter weather (I’m not counting the freak snow storm on Halloween) as I begin to romanticize winter activities.  Perhaps it’s how I deal with the cold…I do hate heat and humidity, but I have poor circulation, and am thus always cold, so though I love the idea of winter, even if the reality is not so pretty.

I think about watching the snow fall while reading a good book and drinking hot tea next to a roaring fire while listening to A Charlie Brown Christmas.  This fantasy keeps me occupied, and not thinking about the fact that we can’t use our fireplace or the ridiculousness that is our heating bill.

When I was growing up, one of my favorite “winter time” foods were pancakes.  My mom would make huge blueberry buttermilk ones, while my dad’s specialty was banana chocolate chip.  In college, I would eat those things with nothing on them, like a big, sweet, floppy cracker.

Today, you’ll find me hard pressed to pour maple syrup on my pancakes.  I know…I’m weird.  I prefer them covered with jam, peanut butter or nutella, and eat them throughout the day.  Pancakes are one of my favorite can-eat-at-anytime foods.  And these eggnog pancakes are awesome.  I’ve made a lot of different pancake recipe to try and experiment with flavor combinations.  A lot of “non-traditional” pancake flavors like French silk chocolate, matcha (green tea) produce thin batters that spread out on the griddle, and turn into flimsy, dry sad, pancakes.  Of course I eat them anyway, but these pancakes are different.

They are fluffy, soft, moist and delicious.  Definitely one of my favorite pancake recipes to date.  So if you’ve got extra eggnog, try these.  Please.  Because they chase away winter blues.  And are so amazingly easy to make.

 

Eggnog Pancakes

Adapted from Being Suzy Homemaker

2 cups flour

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 large eggs

2 cups eggnog

1/2 tsp nutmeg (cinnamon would work too)

some butter to grease the skillet (I use Pam)

 

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs with the eggnog and melted butter.

Using a spatula, combine the dry and wet ingredients to make a thick, lumpy batter, being careful not to over mix.

In a non-stick skillet, melt some butter (or spray skillet with Pam) over medium heat. Ladle 1/3 cup batter into hot skillet. Do not overcrowd the skillet because the pancakes will puff up and out as they cook.

When bubbles appear on the surface of the pancakes, and the edges begin to brown, flip the pancakes and cook the other side.

I halve this recipe and get about 10-12 decent size pancakes.

Leave a Reply

