Bananarrot Cake

Last Monday was my second office birthday.  After the success of my first attempt, I was really excited to go at it again.  This time though, I was making a birthday cake for my fiancé’s father, so the pressure was on….

Everything was going great.  I made the frosting the night before to get it out of the way, and I got to put my kitchen scale to good use, as the recipe used weight instead of volume measurements.  Making two separate cake layers was slightly annoying, it felt like I was continuously washing and drying bowls and spoons so I could use them again.  But it was worth it.  The cakes turned out great despite some ambiguity in the recipe, and everything was going smoothly.  Until the car ride to the office.

I love how the carrots conformed to the cup.

I had purchased two cake carriers on Amazon to make the delivery process easier, but this cake was out to get me.  About three minutes into the ride, I noticed the top layer was shifting slightly.  Let me tell you, driving and trying to reposition cake layers is not the best example of efficient multi-tasking.  I thought I was compensating nicely, until I went around a turn and the top layer slid right off into the side of the carrier.

Banana+Carrot=Bananarrot

I realized there was nothing I could do until I stopped driving, so I did my best to keep driving calmly while my fiance’s dad’s birthday cake was slowly becoming my first public baking catastrophe.  When I pulled into the parking lot, I maneuvered the layers back into place by hand, and tried to smooth out the frosting.  It looked…well I thought it looked awful, but no one seemed to notice.  Bonus.  And it was very tasty.  Double bonus.

I picked this cake because Luke’s dad likes bananas and carrot cake.  The layers complement each other very nicely, and cream cheese frosting is perfect with banana and carrot.  I was very pleased with the outcome, even if it did require some last minute adjustments on my part.

I stayed in the office until the cake was cut so I could take a pic of the layers.

Also, I think this title is totally legit, but Luke thought a cake name shouldn’t end with the sound “rot.”  The recipe only has weight measurements, so if you don’t have a kitchen scale, you can look up equivalent volume measurements on the Internet.

Bananarrot Cake

Adapted from Citrus and Candy

Carrot Layer

150g all-purpose flour

¾ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

½ tablespoon cocoa powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

150g sugar

50g light brown sugar

150ml of canola oil

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ cups shredded carrot

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8” cake pan.  You could also use a 9” one.  When making layer cakes, I also line the bottom of the pans with parchment paper for easy removal.  In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cocoa powder and cinnamon.  In a medium bowl, beat together sugar, brown sugar, oil and eggs and vanilla until well blended.  Add the flour mixture mixing slowly until just incorporated.

Add the carrots and beat for another 10 seconds.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 45-55 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife inserted in the middle comes out clean*.  Cool for 20 minutes in pan, then turn out to cool completely.  Remove parchment paper if necessary.

 

Banana Layer

 2 large ripe bananas, mashed

116g sour cream

2 eggs

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon lemon zest

170g sugar

120ml canola oil

200g cake flour (or all-purpose)

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

Oven should still be at 350 degrees.  Grease another 8” or 9” cake pan.  Mash the bananas in a medium bowl, and add sour cream, mixing to combine fully.  Add in the eggs, vanilla and zest and mix until well blended.

Add in the sugar and mix until combined.  Gradually add in the oil, beating until it’s completely incorporated.  Sift in dry ingredients.  You can combine them together in a small bowl beforehand, or sift them in one at a time.  Mix slowly until fully combined.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 45-55 minutes, or until passes the toothpick test.  Cool for 20 minutes in pan, then turn out to cool completely.

*This will hereafter be known as the toothpick test.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Adapted from Culinography

Cream Cheese Frosting
1/2 cup butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
3.5 cups confectioners sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Frost the cooled cake.

4 Comments on “Bananarrot Cake”

  1. Luke says:

    The best cake I have ever eaten. Everyone at the office loved it!

  2. […] day about what he envisioned his birthday cake to be this year.  At first he said he wanted the Bananarrot cake I made to bring into the office for his dad’s […]

  3. […] day about what he envisioned his birthday cake to be this year.  At first he said he wanted the Bananarrot cake I made to bring into the office for his dad’s […]


Leave a Reply

