Wild Mushroom Soup

During this time of year, most people are scrambling to finish Thanksgiving leftovers before they go bad, stringing holiday lights over their house-front bushes, or bringing home a fresh Christmas tree ready to be decorated.  As a new couple starting out, however, Luke and I don’t participate in these activities.  My mom was always very adamant about seasonal decorating our house growing up, and it’s something I’d like to do too, once we have the means to do so.

One thing I do love doing once the weather turns chilly is making soup.  A steamy bowl of soup and a hunk of bread is my ideal winter meal.  Sadly, Luke has described himself as “just not a soup guy,” so whenever I make a pot of soup, I am responsible for consuming all of it.  I like soup, nay, love it, but this is a daunting task.  Especially considering how many different types of soup I’m dying to make this winter.

This past weekend, we drove down to Connecticut to visit my parents.  We most likely won’t be back down until after Christmas, so this was our “holiday” trip.  And of course the gift I bestowed upon my parents was extra soup!  I gave potato leek soup to my mom and stepdad and wild mushroom soup to my dad.  Talk about spreading holiday cheer!

I’m sharing the wild mushroom soup with you first because I made it first.  My grandma sent me this recipe because Luke loves mushrooms, and I’m always looking for ways to get him to eat vegetables.  Needless to say, he enjoyed it a lot, but he can’t eat soup all week, so I had some leftovers.  This soup is creamy and perfectly spiced.  Luke requested that I add potatoes to give the soup more body, and I thought it was a great addition.

Wild Mushroom Soup

Adapted from Family Circle Magazine

Makes 6-8 servings

3 tablespoons butter

2 large shallots, diced (I used onions)

1 ½ lbs mixed wild mushrooms, sliced (I used a mix of cremini and reconstituted shitake)

1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme (I used dried)

3 tablespoons all purpose flour

7 cups low sodium chicken broth

¾ cup heavy cream

¼ dry sherry (I used dry white wine)

2 teaspoons salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

¼ cup chopped parsley (optional)

Melt butter in a large, lidded pot over medium heat.  Add shallots (or onions) and sauté for 2-3 minutes, or until softened.  Add mushrooms and thyme and cook for 8 minutes.  Sprinkle in flour, and cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Add stock and bring to a boil.  Turn down to a simmer, cover and cook for 15 minutes.

Stir in heavy cream, sherry (or wine), salt and pepper, and bring to a simmer (do not boil).  Mix in parsley (if using) and serve.

Leave a Reply

