Apple Crumb Pie

I hope everyone had an enjoyable and delicious holiday.  We went to Luke’s uncle’s house (they live in the same town, so no long holiday driving) and spent the day with his family.  I celebrated Thanksgiving with his family last year too, which makes me feel more grown up than I think I actually am… maybe that’s because I don’t consider myself to be too grown up yet.  Hopefully a full time job in the near future with help with that sentiment.

It’s always interesting to become part of a different family’s celebrations, you get to experience the holiday through different traditions, perhaps eating strange new side dishes and meeting fascinating people.

I truly love Thanksgiving, not only because it brings families together, but because of…you guessed it…the food, specifically the desserts.  I made two pies this year, and completely forgot to take pictures of one, so here’s what I have for you.

I love pie.  All kinds of pie.  I contemplate having pie at my wedding, though I doubt that would go over too well with the groom.  Apple pie is one of my favorites, but only if it’s a crumb pie.  I know double-crusted apple pies are more traditional, but a crumbly, sweet brown sugary topping all over my apples definitely tickles my taste buds more than another crust layer.

Apple Crumb Pie

Adapted from Nutmeg Nanny

For the Filling:
6 cups apple chunks (I used 2 Golden Delicious and 2 huge Crispin apples)
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 Tbsp flour
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp lemon juice

For the Topping:
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Prepare dry ingredients in a large bowl, set aside. Core, peel, and slice apples. Transfer into large bowl with dry ingredients. Top off with vanilla and lemon juice. Toss to coat apples well. Set aside for 10-15 minutes while you prep the dough.

Fit your pie crust into a pie plate. You can even use store bought pie crust if you prefer. Fill pie crust with prepared apple chunks.

In a medium bowl, combine the dry topping ingredients. Pour cooled melted butter into bowl. Toss and cut until small to medium sized chunks form. Break up large chunks as needed. Using a spoon, sprinkle crumb topping over entire pie.

Cover pie loosely with foil. Bake at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, then reduce heat to 375 and continue baking for an additional 35 minutes. Cool and enjoy.

One Comment on “Apple Crumb Pie”


Leave a Reply

