Sweet Potato Donuts with Marshmallow Glaze

I love breakfast.  It’s definitely my favorite meal of the day, compared to what people typically eat at other meals.  For the record, I am not a fan of non-traditional breakfast food, like cold pizza for breakfast.  I can’t stand cold pizza period, the thought of forcing it down my throat right after waking up just doesn’t sound like a good start to my day.

I always have some breakfast-y baked good in the house, mostly to encourage a certain someone to eat breakfast, but also because I enjoy them very much myself.  Muffins, scones, pancakes, french toast, donuts….So many tasty things to rotate through.  Plus they make great mid-day snacks.  Pancakes for dinner?  Yes please.

I made these donuts with my mounds of leftover sweet potato.  They are cakey and moist, and the marshmallows glaze is just the right amount of sweet to not overpower the subtle spices in the donuts.  I had some leftover melted chocolate from a previous recipe, so I decided to dip some donuts in as well.  Best idea ever.  It might seem strange, but chocolate + sweet potato = win.

If you don’t have a donut pan, I’d highly recommend getting one.  I got mine at Bed Bath & Beyond for like $9.99.  They aren’t expensive at all, and you can make your own donuts!!  If you don’t like sweet potato, try these donuts, they were great too.


Sweet Potato Donuts

Adapted from Caren Blair via the Craving Chronicles

Makes 12 donuts (I got 13!)

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoons nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoons ground cloves
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup sweet potato puree
1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease donut pan. In medium bowl, whisk ingredients from flour to cloves together. In another medium bowl, whisk ingredients from oil to milk together. Add wet ingredients to dry and fold together without over mixing. Place mixture in a piping bag and fill halfway. Bake for 10 minutes or until donut springs back when touched. Cool in pan for 5 minutes before turning out to cool completely. Dip donuts in glaze and let set for 5 minutes.  I’d recommend storing these in the fridge, as mine got a little too moist after a few days.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers