Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Cookies

I can’t believe that I’ve had this blog for about two months, and I’m just sharing my first cookie recipe now.  I mean, cookies are such an easy staple household dessert, I should have cookie recipes backed up the whazoo.  But I don’t.  I have plenty bookmarked in my web browser, that’s for sure, but I guess I like to rotate my dessert options, as it spices things up a bit.

 

I also try to be a seasonal baker.  It’s fall, so I want to utilize warm spices and autumn produce: apples, pumpkin, pears and sweet potato.  I think sweet potato is an underrated dessert add-in.  Growing up, the only sweet potato dish I ever ate was sweet potato marshmallow casserole at Thanksgiving.  Which I love.  Because I love sweet potato.  Sweet potato fries, roasted sweet potatoes, sweet potato pie, and now sweet potato chocolate chip cookies.

 

These cookies are fantastic.  I think every person has a cookie type that makes their taste buds sing, and my type is thick, soft and chewy.  Gingersnaps…tolerable….but definitely not my favorite.  These cookies are soooo my type.  Full of fall flavors (because I love me some fall baking ALL year round) and chocolate, chewy and soft.  Oh so good.  Also, I loaded up on sweet potato during my last trip to the Asian market in Boston, so you can expect more sweet potato recipes on the way!

 

Sweet Potato Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from My Chocolate Therapy

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter room temperature

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1 egg, room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup mashed sweet potatoes *

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

*To make mashed sweet potatoes, wrap sweet potatoes in foil and place them in an oven heated to 400 degrees for 45-50 minutes. Remove from oven, peel off skin (it should slip right off), and put in a medium bowl and mash with the 1 tablespoon maple syrup. You’ll only need 2 or 3 small sweet potatoes.  Mine sweet potatoes were rather large, so it took over an hour to roast them completely.  Roasting is my preferred method of cooking sweet potatoes as it caramelizes the sugar and brings out a fuller flavor.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and adjust racks to the middle position. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper or silicon mat.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and salt.

Cream together the butter, granulated sugar and the brown sugar until light and fluffy and the volume has increased. Add the egg and the vanilla and mix until incorporated. Stir in the sweet potato puree and blend until smooth. Beat in the dry ingredients in increments and combine well. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop in small mounds onto the prepared cookie sheets, leaving about 2 inches of space between each cookie. Bake until the cookies are lightly golden around the edges and they spring back from the touch, about 12 minutes. Let cool completely on the cookie sheets before transferring to cooling racks.

Leave a Reply

