White Chocolate Ice Cream

When Luke got me an ice cream machine for my birthday this year, I was giddy beyond belief.  Even though I didn’t have one before then, I had already bookmarked an embarrassingly large number of ice cream recipes and was super excited to try them.  While this isn’t the first recipe I made, I have yet to master the art of photographing ice cream.  Maybe that’s why I only have one shot to share.  I’ll keep working on it though.

 On the other hand, my bunny rabbit photographing skills seem to be improving.

 

This ice cream is awesome.  It tastes just like white chocolate….duh.  Velvety, rich white chocolate goodness.  So far, only the ice creams I’ve made that contain egg yolks have remained smooth and creamy throughout their lives.  Others get an icy consistency that I find not too palatable.  I save all the excess egg whites and freeze them for a rainy day….when I make angel food cake.  Of course, egg whites have many other uses, and keep well in the freezer for a few weeks.

White Chocolate Ice Cream

Adapted from Amanda’s Cookin’

Makes about 1 quart of ice cream

 8 oz white chocolate, finely chopped (I had a bag of white chocolate eggs leftover from my post-Easter candy raid)

1 cup whole milk
2/3 cup sugar
pinch of salt
5 large egg yolks
2 cups heavy cream

Put the chocolate pieces in a large bowl and set a mesh strainer over the top.

Warm the milk, sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan. In a separate medium bowl whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm milk into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  This should take about 4-5 minutes.  Pour the custard through the strainer over the white chocolate. Stir until white chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is smooth, then stir in the cream. Stir until cool over an ice bath, though I usually just let mine sit out for an hour or two until it comes to room temperature.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  Remove to tupperware, or other container, and store in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

