Simple Fried Rice

My next few posts are going to be a little shorter than usual.  They’ll also be occurring a lot closer together.

This is because, for some reason, my laziness….insufficient lighting….rapid consumption….I’ve only got one photograph saved of the dish I want to post about.  Which I apologize for.  I know posts are much better with ogle-able photos that make you drool.  Or maybe that’s just how I like my posts.

So to supplement my one photo dishes, I’ll be putting up some extra cute photos of Izzy I took recently.  Because obviously there isn’t enough fuzzy rabbit in your life.

 

D’awwwwwww.  Admit it.  Your heart just melted.  And no, I don’t know why she decided to fold down one of her ears.

 And now on to the food.  Fried rice is an incredibly simple and satisfying meal that can be created easily at home.  Plus, it’s an easily customizable dish that can be changed readily depending on what ingredients you have on hand.  I hadn’t taken any meat out of the freezer when I made this, so I only used eggs, but feel free to use whatever meat/add-ins you want.

 

Yes, my stovetop utensil of choice is my pair of long, cooking chopsticks.

Simple Fried Rice

Adapted From What’s Cooking Chicago

Makes 4 servings

Sauce:
2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons fish sauce
1 1/4 teaspoon salt

Eggs:

4 eggs
1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Fried Rice:
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
4 large garlic cloves, minced
12-14 extra-large shrimp (21 to 25 per pound), peeled, de-veined
2 cups leftover rice, cold
1/2 cup frozen peas and carrots, thawed (Luke’s not a fan, so I omitted these)
4 scallions, sliced thin

For the Sauce:
In a small bowl, stir together brown sugar, soy sauce, fish sauce, and 1¼ teaspoons salt; set aside.

For the Eggs:
In another small bowl, whisk eggs and ¼ teaspoon salt together in medium bowl, set aside.

Heat 1 teaspoon of oil over medium high heat. Once hot, pour the whisked eggs into the pan and allow to set. Pull the cooked edges towards the middle and tilt the pan to allow the runny eggs to coat the bottom of the pan. Continue to do this as needed until no runny egg remain.

With a spatula, carefully flip the egg to cook the top side. Once cooked, take off heat and break up the egg into pieces which will be tossed into the fried rice later. Set aside until the egg is called for in the fried rice recipe.

For the Fried Rice:

Place onion and garlic in 12-inch nonstick skillet with oil. Sauté over medium heat, stirring constantly, until translucent.

Crumble the cold, leftover rice into the middle of the skillet. Cook the rice along with the shrimp until the rice is warmed through and slightly toasted, about 5-7 minutes.

Add the sauce mixture and toss with whatever add-ins you desire.

Add the scallions, remove from heat, and transfer to serving platter. Garnish with lime wedges if desired; serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

