Apple Ricotta Cake

Arriving home after camping out at Luke’s office for the afternoon, I found that our power had been restored!  And I immediately starting thinking about all the things I would bake the next day.  Because that’s the kind of person I am.

I’m very thankful I was able to take shelter at the office, not only because being warm and having an internet connection are wonderful things, but because I also got a job of sorts!

Since Luke and I moved to Andover, I’ve been sending our leftover baked goods into work with him, and apparently they have been enjoyed quite a bit.  I am now doing a trial run of being the birthday dessert provider at the office, instead of store-bought cakes (the frosting on those store-bought cakes make me gag).  I’m very excited to put my self-taught baking skills to the test and see what I can create, and share (virtually) here as well.

Now that the storm has passed, fall has resumed its normal course.  Whatever “normal” fall weather is in New England.  So here’s another delicious fall recipe that I made after buying a container of ricotta cheese on a whim…and because it was on sale.  Cheese may seem like a weird cake ingredient, but it works.  WELL.  This cake is moist with tender chunks of cinnamon-y apples in every bite.  It also paired well with my homemade dulce de leche ice cream.  If you have any leftover ricotta hanging around from your grandma’s lasagna recipe, I’d highly recommend giving this cake a try.  Also a good alternative for leftover ricotta, lemon ricotta pancakes! (which will come later, I promise.)

Apple Ricotta Cake

Adapted from Poor Girl Gourmet

3 medium apples (approximately 1 1/4 pound, I used one huge Crispin and a regular sized Golden Delicious), peeled, cored, and cut into 1/4-inch slices
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup fresh ricotta
2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Mix the sugar and cinnamon together to make cinnamon sugar. Place the apple slices in a large bowl, add the cinnamon sugar to the apples, and stir to evenly distribute the cinnamon sugar. Allow the apples to macerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Grease a 9-inch springform pan with butter (the remnants on the wrapper from the softened butter are good for this task).

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar until it is creamed. Add the ricotta and vanilla extract and mix until well blended. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing until each is fully incorporated.

In a second bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring well. Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture and mix until fully combined. Add the apple slices and any accumulated juices, and gently stir them (also known as “folding” them) into the batter.

Bake the cake on the middle rack until the cake is golden brown on top and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean, 55 minutes to 1 hour.  Cool on wire rack before serving.

Leave a Reply

