Chocolate Buttermilk Donuts

Two nights ago, our yard looked like a winter wonderland and I was excited.  Until we woke up the next morning without power or heat or hot water or most importantly, no way of cooking anything.  Although, Luke did suggest lighting a fire in one of our cooking pans with matches and Izzy’s hay.  Unfortunately, I don’t think that would be an efficient way of cooking or heat, as hay burns pretty quickly.  Plus it’s dangerous.  I had to spend time at Luke’s office to avoid sitting under the covers on our bed in the cold apartment.  Actually, this post would not be possible without the internet at Luke’s office.  Ours is obviously out…and we have no idea when the power will return 😦

Our mattress got a lot firmer.  I don’t think that’s a good thing.  My chapstick has hardened too.  I have to slather it all over my lips before it becomes warm enough to impart its soothing balm.  I feel bad for Izzy too.  Do house rabbits grow winter coats?

We took her with us to Luke’s parent’s house last night, and she was not a happy rabbit.  We set up her pen in a bathroom since her cage is too large to transport.  I assumed the poop-strewn floor in the morning was her not-so tiny voice of displeasure.

Obviously, the power outage is puttin some serious brakes on my baking/cooking schedule, which made me very unhappy.  Luckily I make multiple recipes a week, so I’ve always got photos ready for a post, even if I haven’t had a chance to whip something up in a while.  I really hope this storm isn’t a portent of the winter to come.  I don’t know if I can handle many more large-scale power outages.

Anyway, on to the recipe.  I picked up a donut pan at Bed Bath & Beyond recently, and was itching to try it out.  These donuts are rich, cakey and fully capable of satisfying even the largest chocolate craving…at breakfast!  I had some extra coconut milk left over from a previous recipe, so I made a coconut-chocolate glaze.  I’m not a huge fan of the taste of coconut, so I was pleasantly surprised when the glaze added only a hint of flavor, instead of drowning my delicious donuts in coconut.  I mean, I would have eaten them anyway, but still.

Chocolate Buttermilk Cake Donuts

Adapted from Cherry Tea Cakes

Makes 1 dozen regular sized donuts

1 1/2 cups cake flour
1/2 cup dutch process cocoa
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. kosher salt
3/4 cup buttermilk*
2 eggs
2 T. butter, melted
1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 425. Spray donut pan with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Add buttermilk. Stir. Add butter and vanilla. Stir.  Add eggs one at a time, stirring in between each egg. Beat until just combined. Fill each donut mold about 2/3 full.

Bake for roughly seven minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool, and decorate accordingly.

 *I always make my own buttermilk by adding a teaspoon of white vinegar to a cup of milk and letting it sit for 5-10 minutes.

Coconut Chocolate Glaze

 1/3 cup coconut milk

2 tablespoons corn syrup

~6 oz chopped milk chocolate

Heat the coconut milk and corn syrup in a small saucepan over medium heat until it starts to boil.  Stir in the chopped chocolate and stir until smooth.  Drizzle over cooled donuts or dip donuts in glaze.  I started with the first, then saw how much glaze I had left, so continued to the later.

One Comment on “Chocolate Buttermilk Donuts”

  1. […] expensive at all, and you can make your own donuts!!  If you don’t like sweet potato, try these donuts, they were great […]


Leave a Reply

