Angel Food Cake

Back to back posts huh?  Oh yeah, I went there.  But don’t worry, I will be brief.  I have a recipe I’m quite excited about and couldn’t wait the requisite few days to share it with you.  Plus, my Dad and his girlfriend are coming to visit tomorrow (this will be Dad’s first visit to our apartment) and I’m pretty stoked about it.  He also gets to meet Izzy.  It’ll be interesting to see how she reacts to new people.  I can carry the little girl around one-handed now, but I’m hoping new people won’t freak her out.

I’m trying to get her to eat greens…because rabbits invade gardens to eat greens and vegetables right?  I’ve tried romaine lettuce, spinach and parsley….and have been shut down every time.

 

 See that??!!!? That is stone cold rabbit rejection.

But I digress.  This post is about angel food cake and all its light, fluffy goodness.  What’s not to love?  Angel food cake may seem daunting because of its egg white count (12 of them!)  but thankfully I make ice cream with the yolks so it doesn’t feel like a waste.  Every time I make ice cream, I put the whites in a Tupperware and freeze them.  Egg whites are awesome that way.  Yolks…not so much.  Can’t freeze those bad boys.  Anywho, angel food cake isn’t as hard as it seems, and the homemade version is soooo much better than store bought.

 

Also, it cools upside down.  How neat is that?  Thankfully we had a bottle of wine that Luke’s boss brought over weeks ago, and I didn’t have to rig something super precarious.

 

I mashed up some strawberries for my first piece…then just started slicing off the stuff and eating it without a plate.  Seriously, it’s that good.

Angel Food Cake

Adapted from Joy the Baker

1 ¾ cups granulated sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup cake flour, sifted

12 large egg whites, at room temperature

1/3 cup warm water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ teaspoons cream of tartar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grind sugar in the bowl of a food processor for 2 minutes.  This will help create a superfine sugar that will be better absorbed by the egg whites.

Place half the sugar in a small bowl.  In a large bowl, combine the remaining sugar, salt, and cake flour.  Set aside.

Beat together the egg whites, water, extract and cream of tartar.  I used my electric hand mixer on medium/medium high speed.  Gradually add the sugar from the small bowl and continue mixing until medium (not stiff) peak form.  The meringue will hold a trail of the beaters through it.  Note: This step took a lot more than I anticipated, upwards of 8-10 minutes.

Sift in one quarter of the flour mixture.  Fold with a spatula.  Try to avoid stirring the mixture too much because you don’t want to flatten the egg whites.  Sweep the egg whites from the bottom to the top of the bowl.  Add the flour mixture in three more batches.  Fold until thoroughly combined.

Spoon batter into an ungreased tube pan.  Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, or until a skewer (or toothpick) comes out clean.  Remove from oven and carefully invert the pan, propped on a bottle.  The hole in the center of my tube pan was large enough to fit the neck of a wine bottle, so I balanced it that way.  Let rest for at least an hour before trying to remove from pan.

Leave a Reply

