Potato Leek Soup

As you read this, I’m probably sitting in a dressing somewhere in Northern Massachusetts trying to muster the strength to squeeze my abused body into yet another big white dress.  Or maybe I’m chilling on my couch with my best lady friends chatting about how easy finding the perfect dress was.

Leeks are pretty.

Either way, I hope you’re enjoying your Saturday, even though I may or may not be.  You might have noticed I’ve been posting a lot.  Sorry about that?  You’re welcome?  Apparently, I’ve been cooking/baking up a store and I’m already backlogged with things to share, so I’ll keep posting every day for as long as I can manage it.

This photo…not so pretty…

I’m trying to vet out the posts with not-so-awesome photography, but that doesn’t at all mean the recipes aren’t awesome.  This soup might not take a fabulous photo, but what it may lack in photogenic-ness, it makes up for in flavor.  I brought some to my mom’s house when I went to Connecticut last weekend, and it served as a rehabilitation meal for my stepdad as he battled a cold.

Nothing beats a warm bowl of soup.  Unless you’re eating a bowl of soup while watching your bunny rabbit stretch, yawn and flop over.  Try to finish your soup before running over to coo mindlessly at her.

Potato Leek Soup

Adapted from Munchin with Munchkin

Makes about 8 servings

8-10 yukon gold potatoes, peeled and cubed ( I used 8 potatoes)
1 yellow onion, diced
3 leeks, sliced
2 stalks of celery, chopped (I omitted these)
1 carrot, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. salted butter
¼ cup fresh parsley (I used dried)
1 Tbsp. fresh thyme
1 Tsp. dried rosemary
dash red pepper flakes
1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
6 cups chicken broth (alternately use vegetable broth for a vegetarian soup)
salt and pepper to taste

Prepare all vegetables. Leeks need extra attention when cleaning as they contain a lot of sand. To properly clean a leek remove the roots and the dark green ends, so just the white and light green part remains. Slice the leek length wise, halfway through, so all of its layers are visible. Rinse under cold water carefully pulling back layers to remove the sand. Shake off excess water and slice into thin discs.

In a large pot or dutch oven, melt butter over medium high heat. Sauté leeks, onions and garlic for roughly 3-5 minutes until tender. Do not brown the leeks as it will give your soup a burnt flavor.

Add potatoes, carrots, and celery. Cook for an additional 5 minutes stirring frequently. Sprinkle with parsley, thyme, red pepper flakes, and rosemary, stir to combine. Pour in chicken broth and season with Worcestershire sauce.

Bring soup to a boil and cook for about 5 minutes. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 25-35 minutes. Remove from heat.

Using a blender or immersion blender, puree soup in batches until smooth. Salt and pepper to taste.


2 Comments on “Potato Leek Soup”

  1. fishdan says:

    I like to include one purple turnip in my potato leek soup. Prep and put it in with the potatos.

    Leeks grow like gang busters in our area. If you’re inspired we’ve got some seeds from our crop this year


Leave a comment